Goodbye Gunn

I decided to switch things up and try to make a video instead of just writing up a blog post to say my goodbyes to my summer residence hall. This is still very experimental, even after my Nashville video, so we’ll see how it goes, but it was definitely fun to make.

I’ll put a transcript of what I’m saying in the video right here, just in case you would rather read!

“So, I’m moving out of my summer housing pretty soon and I’m rather excited.

Right now, everything is kind of a mess because I’m trying to pack up as much as I can now while still living here, and I’ve been trying to do little things to make the process move along a little bit quicker. Little things like taking down all my photos and other wall decorations. It’s really weird how moved in you can become to a place that you never intended on staying in or calling home. Now, don’t get me wrong, I’ve been ready to move out since I moved in, but after the 3 and a half months I’ve spent here, this place has kind of grown on me.

Like, the basement, otherwise known as the only place in the building with good WiFi, has become my favorite place to just relax, and maybe even make an attempt at cooking, that is if the kitchen is actually clean enough to even think about cooking in, which it almost never is… ever.

Then I had the interesting experience of living on the same hallway as all my female coworkers, which didn’t sound like it was gonna be fun but has easily been the most effective team builder I could possibly imagine especially considering we have community bathrooms and have seen each other in an array of different states and somehow still deal with and support each other when we have to wake up at 5 in the morning for work.

But I know for a fact I’m not going to miss having to wear shoes every time I set foot in the bathroom, or having to use stalls that rob me of what little sense of privacy I still try to have. And although the water pressure is fantastic, I know I’m not gonna miss using these shower that remind me of something out of a really badly written horror movie.

I think, in the end, I’m gonna chalk up living here to a learning experience, even though I honestly could not tell you what I’ve learned. I’ve survived though and I’m very excited to start my next part of the adventure. So, goodbye Gunn Hall. You’ve been good to me and I very much appreciate it. Until next time, I suppose.”

One thought on “Goodbye Gunn

Leave a Reply

